Skip to content

Reading habits vary across the nation

August 22, 2007

“I feel sleepy when I read” — one of my friend used to say to me about his weakness in reading books. Hence, he will fall asleep when taking a book to read regardless of books type such fiction, comics, magazine, study notes, etc. For him the reading is the sleeping pill.

Recent poll conducted by AP revealed similar habits patterned people. But, reading is an essential practise for every people in order to enhance their knowledge. Literacy rate merely depend on the ability of reading of the people in a nation.

With widespread of website, blogs, interactive medias, there are some sort of down time in making time to read by the people. People are really love read blogs and even magazines with pictorials not text – I have noticed several times in my surroundings.

They are only rely on image to get the idea about the article, not text. While  on my personal experience, I had merely a good hits in my Flickr page rathar than my mostly text based blog. It shows me that people don’t like to read but, to watch.

Taking messaging for instance, people used to type various abbreviation to convey a message. ASAP is one of the best example.

How these patterns have developed with in people? – tough question.

The busy life and freedom of infromation may be the reasons for these scenarios in my point of view.

One in four adults read no books at all in the past year, according to an Associated Press-Ipsos poll released Tuesday. Of those who did read, women and older people were most avid, and religious works and popular fiction were the top choices.

The survey reveals a nation whose book readers, on the whole, can hardly be called ravenous. The typical person claimed to have read four books in the last year — half read more and half read fewer. Excluding those who hadn’t read any, the usual number read was seven.

Let us think about this issue. I hope the print media will never been out dated since, It gives the comportable atmosphere to read the stuff. I love to read. Reading is the best way to increase knowledge related issues.

Teach children not to watch, read and watch. Once, they read they’ll get a idea about it and get an imagination on their head. So, read.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

